<object id="i2hs2"></object>
  • <object id="i2hs2"><button id="i2hs2"></button></object>
  • <thead id="i2hs2"><del id="i2hs2"></del></thead>
    Subra Suresh



     the ninth and current president of Carnegie Mellon University

     E-mail: ssuresh@nsf.gov

    Earned Degrees:

    B. Tech.     Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, May 1977 First Class with Distinction

    M.S.          Iowa State University, May 1979              Massachusetts Institute of Technology, August 1981

    Honorary Doctorate Degrees:

    Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden, November 2006

    Technical University of Madrid, Spain, January 2010

    Tuskagee University, Alabama, September 2011

    Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland, October 2011

    SRM University, Chennai, India, November 2011

    Michigan State University, May 2012

    University of Maryland Baltimore County, May 2012

    Dartmouth College, June 2013 (public announcement will be made in June 2013).

    Current and Recent Professional Appointments:

    Nominated on June 8, 2010 by the United States President Barack Obama to be the Director of the National Science Foundation to head an independent federal agency with an annual budget of approx. US$7 Billion and a mandate to fund basic research and education in all fields of science and engineering. Unanimously confirmed by the United States Senate on September 29, 2010.  Sworn in as the Director of NSF on October 18, 2010

    Member, National Science and Technology Committee

    (a cabinet-level Committee comprising agency heads and cabinet secretaries)

    Co-Chair, Committee on STEM Education, National Science and Technology Committee (with Dr. John Holdren, Science Advisor to the President of the United States of America and Director of the White House of Office of Science and Technology Policy)

    Co-Chair, Committee on Science, National Science and Technology Committee

    (with Dr. Phil Rubin, Assistant Director in the White House of Office of Science and

    Technology Policy and Dr. Francis Collins, Director, National Institutes of Health) Chair, Inter-Agency Committee on Arctic Research Policy

    Member, National Ocean Council

    Dean of the School of Engineering and Vannevar Bush Professor of Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT); 2007-2010

    Head, Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MIT); 2000-2006

    Board Memberships (partial list, until October 2010)

    Member, Governing Board, Singapore-MIT Alliance for Research and Technology

    (SMART) Center

    Member, Governing Board, MIT-Portugal Program

    Member, International Advisory Committee, King Abdullah University for Science and

    Technology (KAUST), Saudi Arabia

    Member, Governing Board, IMDEA Materials Institute, Madrid, Spain

    Member, Advisory Board, Technology Review India Director, LORD Corporation, Cary, North Carolina Trustee, MIT-India Trust




    Useful links

    28 West Xianning Rd., The Building of Materials Science and Engineering, Xi'an, Shaanxi, P.R.China 710049